truck Free delivery on orders over €100

check Natural dental care products

gift Contribute to a cleaner ocean

Gluten-free toothpaste? The best toothpaste without gluten!

Gluten-free toothpaste? The best toothpaste without gluten!

It seems like the more people get intestinal problems after eating gluten, the more products come on the market that contain gluten. And the more sensitive you are to these proteins, the more likely you have wondered: are there gluten in toothpaste? And of course you want the best for your gut, but also for your teeth. What if you have sensitive teeth, is there gluten-free sensitive toothpaste, or do you have to choose between two evils for the rest of your life?

Is toothpaste gluten-free?

That gluten is used in a lot more products than you initially suspect, you’ve probably known for a while. Not for nothing have you become a master of reading the labels of everything you eat since you found out you have celiac disease. You may not swallow toothpaste, but it does get into your mouth. And an accident can happen easily, so especially if you are very sensitive to gluten, we understand that you want to be very sure that your toothpaste does not contain gluten. The good news is most normal toothpaste are completely gluten-free. But if you need a special toothpaste to give your mouth what it needs and keep your teeth looking their best, you’ll still have to read the label. And unfortunately, that means regularly putting the tube back on the shelf quickly. Luckily, Fleeck’s toothpaste tablets are gluten-free.

Toothpaste tabs with fluoride
Recommended

Toothpaste tablets mint with fluoride

944

Which toothpaste is gluten-free?

There are several gluten-free toothpaste brands. However, the composition of a toothpaste can change. this creates the chance that a gluten-free product suddenly does contain those proteins that make you so sick. Incidentally, there is a very good chance that a toothpaste is gluten-free. This is because the acceptable limit is 20 ppm, or in other words per 1 million parts of toothpaste, a maximum of 20 may contain gluten to be labelled gluten-free. It makes little difference here whether you use toothpaste from a tube, toothpaste tablets or powdered toothpaste. Every brand is very likely to have at least one formula in its range that does not contain gluten. Some brands also have gluten-free toothpaste for more specialised care in their range. Think toothpaste for sensitive teeth, toothpaste against dry mouth, and toothpaste that specifically addresses discolouration from coffee, wine and nicotine or general whitening toothpaste.

This is how to spot gluten in the ingredient list

Although gluten is not absorbed through the skin, we fully understand that you would rather not put them in your mouth at all, or even have them in the house. Fortunately, you can often tell easily from the packaging whether your favourite toothpaste contains gluten. Not all brands use the so-called crossed grain label. This is in fact only mandatory for food products. However, a toothpaste that meets the strict gluten-free requirements may display the label on the packaging. For non-edible products, however, allergens must be listed in a different font on the list of ingredients. This can be in capital letters, bold, italics or with a symbol added. But just because you cannot tolerate gluten does not mean you have to watch out for every allergen. When looking through the ingredients, therefore, pay close attention to the gluten-containing grains (wheat, oats, kamut, rye, barley and spelt) that may be used in toothpaste, in particular as a binding agent.

Refill Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Mint

Refill Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Mint

7

Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Mint

Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Mint

9

Refill Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Charcoal

Refill Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Charcoal

7

Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Charcoal

Toothpaste Tablets Fluoride Free Charcoal

9

Are there possible gluten in other dental care products?

Like gluten-free toothpaste, there is also gluten-free mouthwash, although most mouthwashes are anyway, for example for listerine. Fleeck dental care products, like floss, are also gluten-free.

Frequently asked questions

Basically, most normal toothpaste is gluten-free. Toothpaste that whitens teeth regularly contains gluten. Other specific toothpaste may also contain gluten. It is best to consult the ingredient list.

Although you don't swallow it and therefore the danger is small, you can look for a specific gluten-free mouthwash. The choice is vast, as almost all mouthwashes fortunately do not contain gluten.